Tags

, , , ,

I woke up this morning after dreaming of above mentioned person.
I think this was because when we lived in NY, my father worked for a frame maker (Ashby) on 18 Cornelia St. It was a large studio area with frames displayed above along the walls. My father, Willliam, made the frames with gold leaf and varnish, something I have learned, yet haven’t used. Robert Di Niro Sr. and his son Robert used to come in for frames and supplies – they’d all chat. There was a wood burning stove in the middle of the room and it could get rather cold in there. I remember occasional visits there – Ashby was a Mormon from out West somewhere and when I lived in NY, I’d visit. The smell was like a strange perfume of turpertine, shellac, oils, raw canvas.

Once I took a friend of mine in there and they were quite impressed, it being in Little Italy and them being Italian, Ralph appreciated the place and talking. Plus eating in the neighborhood was just perfect – long before it had been revamped into parvaneau esoterica.

I miss New York’s energy. It’s been a while since I’ve been back, but a trip is in the air I feel.

Anyway, that’s my story and my father’s, who along with my mother used to paint and then sell them in the outdoor show for us to go spend a few months in France every year. My father is gone to that painting space in Heaven, but Natalie is still around.And painting.

I wish you all a wonderful New Year!

